Meeting Minutes – February 8, 2017

Meeting Type/Theme:  International Speech and Evaluation Contest

Meeting Location:           Metropolitan Life Building

Called to Order:                7:00 PM

Presiding Officer:             Adam Kutell, President


Officers’ Reports:            Adam Kutell said there will be a meeting for the officers next week at 6:45 (before the meeting) to discuss plans and goals for this term

Committee Reports:       None

Unfinished Business:      Minutes from last week’s meeting were reviewed and approved.

New Business:                  None


  • Steve Winheim brought fudge brownies for everyone to enjoy.  Thanks, Steve!
  • Adam Kutell reminded everyone that the Area 4 International Speech and Evaluation Contest is going to be held Saturday, March 11 at 2pm.   We hope to have a good following attend to support our club and participants.   More details to follow.
  • Rich Puskarich advised everyone that Bill Collier’s company, Arch Engravings, donated the trophies for the contest – which he always does.  Thanks to Bill for his generosity and  great support.
  • Rich Puskarich thanked everyone that helped him plan and conduct tonight’s contest

Meeting Roles:


Contest Master: Rich Puskarich
Chief Judge: Rob Van Winkle
Patterned Speaker: Carl Hendrickson
Greeter: Susan McConnell
Invocator / CLE: Susan McConnell
Time Keepers: Stacy Duncan and Geoff King
Vote Counter: Sara Pitkin and Debbie Young
Camera Operator: Phil Gawlak
Sergeant at Arms: Gary Brown and Tim Budd


Evaluator Contest Participants and Results


  Evaluator Results
1 Susan McConnell 3rd Place
2 Erin Gissel 1st Place
3 Sera Jennings 2nd Place



Speaker Contest Participants and Results


  Speaker Results
1 Kate Schafroth 4th Place
2 Ginny Foster 3rd Place
3 Adam Kutell 2nd Place
4 Alan Kirby 1st Place


Congratulations to Erin and Alan who will be representing SCTM at the Area 4 Contest in March.



Meeting Adjourned:      9:03 PM


Members Present:



Bettag, Jack
Bettag, Steve
Bone, Dean
Brandt, Howard
Brown, Gary
Bubash, James
Budd, Tim
Carter, Jack
Carrillo, Susan
Coco, Nicholas
Collier, Bill
Denton, Kathy
Domian, Dave
Duncan, Stacy
Ettling, Brian
Foster, Ginny
Gawlak, Phil
Gissel, Erin C
Graves, James
Haparimwi, Nancy
Hendrickson, Carl
Jennings, Sera
Kaiser Jr, Max
King, Geoff
Kirby, Alan
Kiser, George
Kutell, Adam
Mattison, Victor
McConnell, Susan
Mestdagh, Laurie
Osborn II, Robert
Palusci, Joumana
Paul, Jerry
Pellerito, Pati
Pitkin, Sarah
Puskarich, Rich
Salih, Jim
Schafroth, Kate
Schaper, Jim
Shields, Dick
Sowers, Judy
Stewart, Brent
Sullivan, Tim
Terrific, Tom
VanWinkle, Robert
Willard, Gina
Winheim, Steve
Young, Debbie


Attendance:  24 of 48 members – 50.0% (last week – 52.1%, YTD – 53.7%)

Attendance Streaks for 2017:

6 tied with 6 consecutive meetings:

  • Howard Brandt
  • Adam Kutell
  • Victor Mattison
  • Susan McConnell
  • Tom Terrific
  • Debbie Young


3 tied with 5 consecutive meetings:


  • Sera Jennings
  • Steve Winheim



  • Katy Traylor, repeat visitor


Submitted by Victor Mattison, Secretary

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s