Meeting Minutes – South County Toastmasters – December 16, 2020

Meeting Minutes

South County Toastmasters (#1957)

Meeting Date:December 16, 2020
Meeting Type/Theme:Regular Meeting – Theme:  Automation
Meeting Location:Sunset Hills Community Center
Called to Order:6:00 PM
Presiding Officer: Jerry Paul

Officers’ Reports: 

President – Jerry Paul: asked if there were any changes to the minutes and hearing none, the minutes of last week’s meeting were approved as posted.

VPE – Kat Higashino : 

Achieved 6 out of 10 goals toward President’s Distinguished Club requirement. 

No one has volunteered to compete at the speech contest,  if you’re interested please let Kat know. 

The speech contests consist of the International Speech and Table Topics Contests. Any type of speech can be presented for the International Speech Contest but Jim Salih suggests from his experience, a motivational or inspirational speech has a better chance of winning. 

Additionally, according to Toastmasters International, “There is no requirement for the type or topic of the speech but, at the higher levels, inspirational speeches often win.” 

You can find more information about the contests here:,World%20Champion%20of%20Public%20Speaking

VPM – Brent Stewart 

VP-PR – Patrick Hunt 

Area Meeting – Thursday, January 7th

Let Patrick know if you’re interested in being a speaker. 

Area Speech contest – Saturday, February 6th

After we complete our club speech contest we can send two people who compete in the International Speech Contest and two people who compete in the Table Topics Contest.

Let Patrick know if you’re interested. 

Contestants will be competing with different Toastmaster Districts around the world. 

Secretary – Kathy Denton

Treasurer – Kim Bond

Sergeant at Arms – Jim Salih

Officer at Large – Susan McConnell

Committee Reports:

Jerry Paul: Executive committee will be meeting 7:00PM, Thursday, December 17, 2020 via Zoom. The present committee as well as the incoming slate of executive officers will be present. 

Unfinished Business:     

Voting for SCTM Officers for the term January through June, 2021:

The slate of officers as proposed by the nominating committee was presented to the members by President Jerry Paul. There were no further nominations from the floor. A motion was made by Brent Stewart to accept the proposed slate as a whole. The motion was seconded and voted on unanimously by the membership. Officers for next term will be:

President: Kat Higashino

VPE: Patrick Hunt

Secretary: Callie Koehr

Treasurer: Prathyush Viswaroopan

VPM: Kim Bond

VPPR: Sandy Roll

Sergeant at Arms: Keith Page

Officer at Large: Jerry Paul

Immediate Past President: Jerry Paul

New Business:   none


Sean Sheehan reported the Crestwood/Sunset Hills Area Chamber of Commerce, of which SCTM is a member, changed its name to Southwest Area Chamber of Commerce. They decided to change their name because of the growing membership from outside the Crestwood/Sunset Hills area. 

Meeting Roles:

Toastmaster:Patrick Hunt
Greeter:Katsuko Higashino
Invocator / CLE:Liz Decamp
Grammarian:Susan McConnell   “Progress”  – Used 6 times
Time Keeper:Brent Stewart @Sunset / Callie Koehr @Zoom
Vote Counter:Katsuko Higashino
Ah Counter:  Jacqueline Haar
Camera Operator:          Jeff Hoehn
Table Topics:Prathyush Viswaroopan 
General Evaluator: Kim Bond
Joke Master: Liz DeCamp

Speakers and Evaluators:

1Susan McConnellGeorge Kiser
2Brent Stewart Victor Mattison
3James D Perper Tom Terrific


Most Improved:Jeff Hoehn 
Best Table Topics:Bill Collier
Best Evaluator:Tom Terrific 
Best SpeakerBrent Stewart 

**If you have not done so already, please respond to Kat’s email in regards to the January schedule ASAP.

Meeting Rating:                            9.5                                                                                           

Meeting Adjourned:                  7:53PM

Attendance: 65% 

@Zoom: Jackie Haar, George Kiser, Nancy Alba, Elisa Wong, Liz DeCamp, Kim Bond, Jim Salih, PV, Kat, Tom Terrific, Vic Mattison, Callie Koehr, and guest, Blake Koehr

@Sunset: Jerry Paul, Bill Collier, J.D. Perper, Brent Stewart, Howard Brandt, Debbie Young, Patrick Hunt, Susan McConnell, Jeff Hoehn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s