Meeting Minutes – December 7, 2016

Meeting Date:   December 7, 2016
Called to order at:  7:00 PM    Location:  Metropolitan Life Building
Presiding Officer:   Dean Bone
Greeter:   Susan McConnell / Tim Sullivan
Invocator / CLE:  Adam Kutell

Corrections to the November 30, 2016 minutes
1.      The District 8 training on December 17, 2016 is for speech contests, contest master along with judging.  The original minutes only included judging.  See the SCTM website for details.

Officers’ Reports – None
Committee Reports – None

Unfinished Business –
Max Kaiser will be participating in judging a contest in the near future.  Please see Max for details.

New Business –
Jim Salih made the following motion:  Authorization from SCTM to spend up to $15.00 to replace the hand held microphone bracket.  The motion was seconded and it carried.

The District 8 officer training will be held at Webster University on January 14, 2017 from 8:00 AM – 1:00 PM.  All officers are encouraged to attend.

Brent Stewart announced the Holiday Party will be on December 14th from 6:00 PM – 9:00 PMat the Lemay Pavilion in Jefferson Barracks Park.  SCTM members are encouraged to give donations to cover part of the cost of the party.  The club will provide a meat tray.  Sign-up sheets for the potluck will be passed around during the meeting.

Tom Terrific, made a motion, which was seconded, to consider the membership application of James Graves. After discussion, the motion carried.  President, Dean Bone conducted the induction of new member, James Graves.  Tom Terrific will serve as James’ mentor.

President, Dean Bone made a motion, seconded by Brent Stewart, to consider and vote on the following slate of officers for the term January 2017 – June 2017:

President – Adam Kutell
VP Education – Susan McConnell
VP Membership – Gary Brown
VP Public Relations – Sarah Pitkin
Treasurer – Tom Terrific
Secretary – Victor Mattison
Sergeant at Arms – Sera Jennings
Officer at Large – Stacy Duncan

The vote carried.  The formal installation of officers will be conducted on Wednesday, January 4, 2017.

Toastmaster:    Alan Kirby
Grammarian:     Kate Schafroth
Time Keeper:    Susan McConnell
Vote Counter:   Joumana Palusci
Ah Counter:     Kathy Denton
Camera Op:      Tim Sullivan
Table Topics:   Sera Jennings

Speakers and Evaluators
Spkr 1: Geoff King               Evaluator 1:   Steve Winheim
Spkr 2: Patti Pellerito          Evaluator 2:  Victor Mattison
Spkr 3:  Nancy Haparimwi         Evaluator 3:  Brent Stewart
Spkr 4:  Dean Bone               Evaluator 4:  Debbie Young

Gen Evalutor:  Sarah Pitkin

Joke Master:  Bill Collier
Most Improved:          Debbie Young
Best Table Topics:      Tim Sullivan
Best Evaluator:         Brent Stewart
Best Speaker:           Nancy Haparimwi

Meeting Rating  8.7   Meeting adjourned at 9:00PM

Minutes submitted by Susan McConnell

Members present:
Dean Bone
Jim Bubash
Bill Collier
Kathy Denton
Brian Ettling
Brian Ettling
Nancy Haparimwi
Carl Henrickson
Sera Jennings
Max Kaiser
Geoff King
George Kiser
Victor Mattison
Susan McConnell
Mark Nelson
Joumana Palusci
Sarah Pitkin
Pati Pellerito
Jim Salih
Kate Schafroth
Brent Stewart
Tim Sullivan
Tom Terrific
Steve Winheim
Debbie Young
Kathy Nelson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s