Meeting Minutes – August 24, 2011

Record of Meeting of South County Toastmasters – # 1957
Meeting Date:     8/24/2011       Called to order at:  7:00 p.m.
Location: Met Life Building
Presiding officer: Kathy Denton
Greeter:  Mike Marian
Invocator:  Alita Quires
Officers’ Reports
Brent Stewart announced that dues are due.  Please submit payment for $42 to Brent.  He also has copies of the budget for anyone that would like one.

Kathy asked why the budgeted amount for parties was significantly less than last year.  It was due to last year’s anniversary party.
Committee Reports:
Alan announced that trophies for the upcoming contest will be donate by Bill Collier.
Any contestants need to arrive on Wednesday by 6:15, judges should arrive no later than 6:45.  Dee will be the invocator.

Carl announced on behalf of the Speakers Bureau that the AARP sent a thank you email to Steve Flick on his speech that he gave there last week.  He is also scheduled to speak there again in February.

The club is looking for volunteers to help maintain the Speakers Bureau.  Anyone interested please see Carl.
Old Business:
Stephanie Payne was officially inducted into the Club, Carl Hendrickson will be her mentor.
New Business:
Correspondence & Announcements:
Dee attended the showing of the International Speech Contest that was at Barnes and Noble.  She went with Nilsa Scott and Violet Tatum.  Dee gave an update on how she thought the contest was.

Toastmaster:    Adam Kutell              Theme: Jobs          Grammarian:     Howard Brandt          Word: Skill
Time Keeper:  Brent Stewart
Vote Counter:  Alan Kirby
Ah Counter:  Petrina Monti
Camera Op:  Andrew Waithaka
Table Topics:  Judy Sowers
Speakers and Evaluators
Speaker 1: Laurie Mestdagh        Evaluator 1: Rob Van Winkle
Speaker 2: Steve Flick              Evaluator 2:  Cynthia Grega
Speaker 3: Jack Bettag            Evaluator 3:  Bill McNabb
Speaker 4: Rich Ullrich          Evaluator 4: Gina Willard

General Evaluator:  Jim Ruzicka
Joke Master:  Steve Bettag
Most Improved:  Cynthia Grega
Best Table Topics: Dee McAliney
Best Evaluator:  Rob Van Winkle
Best Speaker:  Jack Bettag
Meeting Rating:  9      Meeting adjourned at: 9:10  p.m.
Minutes submitted by:  Steve Bettag
Guests:  Ron Patrick, Lee Zhu, Gunjal Garg, Claire Anderson

Attendance: 28 members
Beckman, Mike
Bettag, Jack
Bettag, Steve
Brandt, Howard
Denton, Kathy
Flick, Steve
Grega, Cynthia
Hendrickson, Carl
Kirby, Alan
Korba, Joanne
Kutell, Adam
Marian, Mike
McAliney, Dee
McNabb, Bill
Mestdagh, Laurie
Monti, Petrina
Quires, Alita
Reichardt, Kevin
Ruzicka, Jim
Scott, Nilsa
Sowers, Judy
Stewart, Brent
Ullrich, Rich
Van Winkle, Rob
Waithaka, Andrew
Willard, Gina
Wilson, Kevin
Winheim, Steve

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s