Meeting Minutes – January 12, 2011

Record of Meeting of South County Toastmasters – # 1957

Meeting Date:  1/12/11
Called to order at:  7:01pm
Location: Met Life Bldg
Presiding officer:  Kevin Reichardt
Toastmaster:  Rob Van Winkle
Time Keeper:  Adam Kutell
Camera Op:  Mike Marian
Ah Counter:  Dee McAliney
Table Topics:  Laura Zemann
Vote Counter:  Alan Kirby
Joke Master:  Don Clair
Grammarian:  Jim Ruzicka
General Eval:  Kevin Reichardt
Invocator:  Joann Korba
Officers’ Reports: (VP Ed, VP Membership, VP PR, Treasurer, Sgt-at-Arms, Officer at Large)
Committee Reports:
Education Committee – Meeting held.  Further discussion needed for a Mentoring Workshop and “How to Write a Speech” Workshop per Committee Chair – Carl Hendrickson
Old Business:
Area Governor – Becca Clark was present to carry out our new officer induction.  Officer-at-Large – Don Clair; Sgt-at-Arms – Charlie Benn; Secretary – Laura Zemann; Treasurer – Petrina Monti; VP of Public Relations – Kathy Denton (not present); VP of Membership – Diane Fawcett (2nd term); VP of Education – Mike Marian; President – Kevin Wilson
New Business:
Diane Fawcett announced an application for new membership – Don Wieland.  Diane made a motion to accept and Mike Marian seconded.  Vote passed.  New member induction will follow on 1/19/2011.
Kevin Reichardt made a motion to reimburse Tom Krauska for cost of club website upkeep at $17.76.  Adam Kutell stated amounts under $25.00 did not need a club vote to pass.  Tom will be reimbursed $17.76.
Dick Shields requested a compensation for Fox Chase Apts (where Christmas party was to be held).  Discussion concluded with Diane Fawcett making a motion for a $50.00 gift card to be purchased, Carl Hendrickson seconded. Motion passed.
Correspondence & Announcements:
Becca Clark, Area Governor, announced an Evaluators’ Workshop presented by Bob Gergen at their meeting on Tuesday January 18th 7:00 – 9:00 pm at the Ponderosa, 5 Eastport Plaza Dr, Collinsville, IL 62234  RSVP (618)409-7417 or email:

The evening’s word was    “incessant”

Becca Clark
Don Wieland
Brian Ettling

Bettag, Steve
Brandt, Howard
Clair, Donald
Fawcett, Diane
Gissel, Erin C.
Hamm, Steve
Hendrickson, Carl
Kirby, Alan
Kutell, Adam
Marian, Mike
McAliney, Dee
Mestdagh, Laurie
Monti, Petrina
Reichardt, Kevin
Ruzicka, Jim
Shields, Dick
Swift, Rory
Ullrich, Rich
VanWinkle, Robert
Willard, Gina
Wilson, Kevin
Zemann, Laura

Guests: 3
Members: 24
Total: 27

Speakers and Evaluators

Speaker 1:  Laurie Mestdagh  –  Evaluator 1: Petrina Monti
Speaker 2:  Charles Benn  –  Evaluator 2: Rory Swift
Speaker 3:  Becca Clark “Distinguished Toastmaster Track” presentation (rescheduled from 1/19/11)
Most Improved:     Charles Benn
Best Table Topics:  Carl Hendrickson
Best Evaluator:  Petrina Monti
Best Speaker:  Laurie Mestdagh
The General Evaluator rated the meeting – 8.0
Meeting adjourned at:  9:08pm

Minutes submitted by:  Laura Zemann,  Secretary.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s