Meeting Minutes 2-13-19

Meeting Minutes
South County Toastmasters (#1957)

Meeting Date:                   February 13, 2019

Meeting Type/Theme:  Regular Meeting – Theme:    Valentine’s Day

Meeting Location:           Metropolitan Life Building

Called to Order:                                7:02 PM

Presiding Officer:             Debbie Young, President

Officer Reports:               

  • None

Committee Reports:

  • None

Unfinished Business:     

  • None

New Business:

  • Eli Hoxha (Mentor:  Sarah Pitkin) and Samira Mudjzic (Mentor:  Anne Hartupee) voted in as new members tonight.

Correspondence and Announcements:

  • Speech Craft Graduation tonight!  3 member of the group will give speeches tonight.
  • Jim Bubash reported the Christmas party expenses as:
    • Cost:  $234.23
    • Donations:  $37.00
    • Total Club Cost from Treasury:  $197.23
  • Jim Bubash, Area 4 Director, is looking for assistance for multiple roles at the Area 4 contest he is in charge of on Saturday, March 9.  Please email Jim at or ask him at the next SCTM meeting.  Contest details are below:

Location:  Grant’s View Library
Address: 9700 Musick Ave, St. Louis, MO 63123
Time: Briefings: 12:00 pm; Contests: 12:30 pm

Meeting Roles:

Toastmaster: Jim Bubash
Greeter:   Rob Van Winkle, DTM
Invocator / CLE: Steve Winheim
Grammarian: Jim Salih
Time Keeper: Debbie Young
Vote Counter: Sarah Xu
Ah Counter:   Michael McCarty
Camera Operator:  Alex Wegmann
Table Topics: Bill Hurston
Competent Leader Evaluator: Steve Winheim
General Evaluator: Adam Kutell
Joke Master: Jerry Paul

Speakers and Evaluators:

  Speakers Evaluators
1 Samira Mujdzic Kathy Denton
2 Eli Hoxha George Kiser
3 Jonathan Starr Tom Terrific
4 Jim Bubash Sarah Pitkin


Most Improved: None Selected
Best Table Topics: George Kiser
Best Evaluator:  George Kiser
Best Speaker: Tie:  Samira Mujdzic, Jonathan Starr

Meeting Rating:                7.25 (using new rating scale)

Meeting Adjourned:      9:03 pm                               

Members Present (New Members denoted with an asterisk):

Brandt, Howard  
Bubash, James  
Collier, Bill  
Denton, Kathy  
Dickson, Sandy  
Fetter, John  
Hartupee, Anne  
Hendrickson, Carl  
Hoffman, Casey  
Hoxha, Eli*  
Hurston, Bill  
Jordan, Donna  
Kaiser Jr, Max  
King, Geoff  
Keith, John  
Kirby, Alan  
Kiser, George  
Kutell, Adam  
Mattison, Victor  
McConnell, Susan  
McCarty, Michael  
Mestdagh, Laurie  
Paul, Jerry  
Mujdzic, Samira*  
Perper, J.D.  
Pitkin, Sarah  
Puskarich, Rich  
Roll, Sandy  
Salih, Jim  
Schafroth, Kate  
Sheehan, Sean  
Shields, Dick  
Spencer, Mary K  
Stewart, Brent  
Terrific, Tom  
VanWinkle, Robert  
Wegmann, Alex  
Winheim, Steve  
Xu, Sarah  
Young, Debbie  

Attendance:  20 /41  members present – 49% attendance

Visitors:  Jonathan Starr (Speech Craft graduate)

Submitted by Rob Van Winkle, DTM, Officer at Large

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s